Serious Driving Offenses

Whether you are a new or an experienced driver, sometimes it can be easy to slip outside of the legal limits for various driving practices. As there are many possible driving offenses and violations, it is not uncommon for even the average person to unintentionally break the law.

We want to help you understand the ins and outs of serious driving offenses and what you can do if you’ve been accused of any serious driving offense in Placer County.

Severe Driving Offenses & Charges

The charges described below are considered some of the most serious of all driving offenses. With our legal counseling, we can handle every type of driving related criminal charge in California.

DUI and Drunk Driving

Driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated are both serious criminal offenses that will be taken very seriously by law enforcement and judges. Terry Gilbeau, your Rocklin DUI Attorney, can help you with all DUI and drunk driving related charges.

Reckless Driving

Reckless driving is a mental state in which the operator of a vehicle has complete and careless disregard for the rules of the road, often attributed to accidents and other damage.

Vehicular Manslaughter

Vehicular manslaughter is a criminal charge upon an individual who has caused the death of another person as a result of negligent operations of a vehicle.

Hit and Run

Hit and Run is a vehicular related accident in which the operator of a vehicle hits a person or property and refuses to stop.

Other Traffic & Driving Offenses

The following list provides the most common traffic or driving offenses and violations occurring in California. If you have cited for any of these offenses and need representation in Placer County, give us a call.

  • Speeding 15 miles or more per hour above the limit.
  • Any traffic violation that results in a fatal accident or collision.
  • Driving a commercial motor vehicle without the proper license or endorsement.
  • Negligent driving.
  • Following too closely to other vehicles.
  • Failing to stop at stop lights, stop signs and other proper signage.
  • Failing to yield the right of way to other vehicles or pedestrians.
  • Driving too fast for certain conditions (e.g., weather, construction or children present).
  • Improper lane change or travel.
  • Improper overtaking on the left or right.
  • Improper driving to the side of the center of the roadway (driving outside of your lane).
  • Texting while driving a commercial motor vehicle.
  • Using a cell phone while driving a commercial motor vehicle.
  • Failure to use a seatbelt.
  • Failure to stop for a school bus whenever children are exiting or boarding the vehicle.

Traffic offenses can apply to drivers that use either a commercial or a non‐commercial vehicle. While there may be unique regulations and guidelines between a commercial or non‐commercial vehicle, it is always best to assume that the strongest penalty possible will apply to your violation.

What happens if I’ve been accused?

Whenever you have been caught breaking the law related to traffic or driving offenses, a fine or cost is often accrued. These penalties can range anywhere from $25 to $1,000 depending on the city and driving violation. Licenses can be disqualified (60 days for two serious traffic offenses and 120 days for three serious traffic offenses), depending on the severity of the offense.

For more serious violations, like hit‐and‐run, driving under the influence and road rage, you may be charged with a felony. It is at this point that we recommend seeking legal guidance to help you through the procedure. However, for any driving offense or traffic violation, seeking legal counseling is never a bad idea. You are better off being certain about your defense rather than going at it alone.

If you have been accused of a serious driving offense or other traffic violation in Placer County, you need to seek help. Whether you are in Rocklin, Roseville, Lincoln, Granite Bay or the surrounding area, we can help you through the entire process. The longer you wait, the greater your risk of saying or doing something that may put you in greater risk with your case.

Seek legal guidance immediately and don’t delay. Give the Law Offices of Terry L. Gilbeau a call today and let us know about your situation.